skip to Main Content

Board of Directors, Audit Committee met on March 31

The Morehead State University Board of Regents held its quarterly meeting on Thursday, March 31 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 329 of the Adron Doran University Center, following a meeting of the Audit Committee.

The Audit Committee accepted the NCAA 2020-21 Agreed-Upon Procedures Report and WMKY Audit. The committee also approved the renewal of the University’s audit firm as well as the audit price and scope of the annual fiscal year audit. Committee members also heard a report on the status of ongoing audits from internal auditor Joe Hunsucker.

The board recognized donors, faculty, staff and students following the audit committee.

Longtime MSU retirees and supporters, Dr. Sue Luckey and her late husband, Dr. George “Mac” Luckey, were recognized for their commitment to MSU and the Morehead community. After Mac’s death, Sue established the Dr. George M. Luckey Honors Student Enrichment Endowment for honors students and the Dr. Sue Y. Luckey Business Scholarship, which provides support for students studying at the College of Business. .

Donors Drs. Kay and Kent Freeland (also retired), two longtime teachers and administrators at public schools and colleges, were recognized for their generosity to MSU. The Freeland Education Scholarship provides an annual award to an aspiring student.

The board also recognized award-winning national MSU Cheerleading teams. This spring, the mixed team won the program’s 28th Division I national championship. The all-female partner stunt team of Frankie Capilets, Sydney Sturgill, Haley Whitacre and Paige Ernst also won a national championship. The Morehead State incentive program has now won 50 national championships since the first competition in 1988.

The faculty, staff and students of MSU’s Space Science Center were also recognized. Later this spring, a satellite, Lunar IceCube, will be launched as a secondary payload on the Artemis I mission. The Lunar IceCube team includes several professors and staff from the Space Science Center and more than 50 current and former students from Morehead State.

The board selected Madonna Weathers (Class of 1971, 1972, 1982), a longtime staff member who has spent more than four decades serving MSU students as this year’s recipient of the Founders Award for Academic Service.

A native of Louisville, Weathers came to Morehead State University as a student and earned a Bachelor of Arts in Education in 1971, a Master of Arts in Education in 1972, and a Master of Arts in Higher Education in 1982. She has worked at MSU for 44 years. years, retiring as Vice President of Student Life in 2016.

The board reviewed audit information, approved staff actions, and faculty tenure promotion. An ad hoc committee has been created to revise the board’s regulations.

The board voted on several recommendations, including 2022-23 tuition, mandatory fees and housing rates, acceptance of the second quarter financial report, and ratification of the amended operating budget. The board also approved employee compensation, the extension of the University’s banking services contract with US Bank, the delegation of the University’s voluntary retirement plan, and the demolition of a residential structure.

University President Dr. Jay Morgan presented a legislative update and report on the University’s 100/135 year celebration. Vice President of Tax Services Mary Fister-Tucker gave a presentation on the University’s debt refinancing and Vice President of University Advancement Rick Hesterberg reported on the University’s website redesign project. the University

The board also re-elected Eric Howard for a second term as president and Sanford Holbrook as vice-president. Jane Fitzpatrick will serve as secretary and Mary Fister-Tucker has been named treasurer.

The next quarterly meeting of the Board of Regents will take place on Thursday 16 June.

For more information, visit

Top – Left to right: MSU President Dr. Jay Morgan; Mindy Highley, assistant vice president for alumni relations and development; Dr. Sue Luckey; Dr. Kay Freeland; and Dr. Kent Freeland.

Middle – MSU Cheerleading Team and MSU President Dr. Jay Morgan (far left), and head coach Mark Coleman, back row, second from left.

Bottom – Front row, left to right: Dr. Ben Malphrus, Executive Director of the Space Science Center and Professor of Space Science; Chloe Hart, engineer/ground station operator; and Dr. Pamela Clark, space systems engineer and director of the Star Theater. Back row, left to right: MSU President Dr. Jay Morgan; Emily Mattle, engineer/ground station operator; Dr. Elijah Jensen, Visiting Assistant Professor of Space Systems Engineering; Ryan Collins, Ground Station Engineer/Operator; and Emily Walter, Mission Operations Engineer/Spacecraft Operator.

Back To Top